RIGPE DORJE CENTRE

Under the spiritual guidance of H. E.

the 4th Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche

lotus

“Throughout the ages, practitioners of the Dharma have engaged in meditation and study, both of which are necessary to attain the ultimate fulfillment of enlightenment. Like all other religious paths, Buddhism aims to help us find true peace and happiness. Many who search for real happiness cannot find it in material gain or ownership. Real, unchanging peace and happiness exist within ourselves and can only be realized through subtle intellectual inquiry and meditation.” H. E. the 3rd Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche

RIGPE DORJE CENTRE (Montreal) was founded in 1987 as the first of many centres to be established by H. E. the 3rd Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche Lodro Chokyi Senge (Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche lineage) in North America, Asia, Europe and Africa. His vision was to provide an environment for the study and practice of Tibetan Buddhism, particularly in the Karma Kagyu tradition.

The special connection that His Eminence had with Montreal began in 1976 when he accompanied the 16th Karmapa Ranjung Rigpe Dorje on a visit there. It was then that His Eminence began touching the hearts and minds of so many budding and experienced practitioners. After the 16th Karmapa passed away in 1981, His Eminence continued to visit Montreal regularly, offering teachings, empowerments and blessings to a growing number of Dharma students.

He also established Rigpe Dorje Foundation (Canada) as part of a network of international organizations to address the gaps in social, educational and medical development for the needy of all ages in India, Nepal and Tibet. Supporters from across Canada were inspired by His Eminence’s qualities of loving kindness and deep concern for the well-being of others — and continue to aspire to make the community service of his projects effective with donations and sponsorships.

Salle001Rigpe Dorje Centre operates under the auspices of the Foundation. The genesis of the Centre in the mid-eighties was a small, informal study group under His Eminence’s guidance. Eventually this group evolved into a more formal setting with opportunities for others to benefit from his clear wisdom and understanding of Dharma.

Beginning in the 19th century with renowned Tibetan Buddhist scholar, writer and teacher, Jamgon Kongtrul Lodro Thaye, the lineage of the Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoches has contributed significantly to the flourishing of the Buddha’s teachings. H. E. the 3rd Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche, founder of Rigpe Dorje Centre, was a genuine Buddhist master in activity and conduct – and one of the four heart sons of the 16th Karmapa Ranjung Rigpe Dorje, Supreme Head of the Karma Kagyu School of Tibetan Buddhism.

A strong karmic bond between the Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoches and the Gyalwa Karmapas goes back through generations, and His Eminence’s devotion to the 16th Karmapa as the source of all paths and practice is a perfect illustration of the Guru-Disciple relationship. It is auspicious therefore that His Eminence chose to name Rigpe Dorje Foundation and Centre after his Root Teacher.

Although His Eminence passed away in 1992, his spiritual and humanitarian activities continue to evolve. Indeed, H. E. Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche, Lodro Chokyi Nyima, although still young, manifests glorious qualities of enlightened wisdom and compassion. And the strong bond between him and H. H. the 17th Karmapa Urgyen Trinley Dorje is as exemplary a lesson in devotion as in previous incarnations.

Rigpe Dorje Centre operates under the direction of H. E .Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche and his Labrang (administration) at Pullahari Monastery in Nepal. The Centre’s weekly program is guided by resident lamas and includes teachings, instructions and practice. Visiting teachers supplement the regular schedule with seminars and retreats. Centre activities are in Tibetan, English and French.

CENTRE RIGPE DORJE

Sous la direction spirituelle de Son Éminence le 4e Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoché

lotus

« Au cours des âges, les pratiquants du dharma se sont consacrés à la méditation et à l’étude, nécessaires l’une et l’autre pour réaliser cet accomplissement ultime qu’est l’éveil. Le but du bouddhisme, comme de toutes les autres voies religieuses, est de nous aider à trouver la paix et le bonheur véritables. Beaucoup de ceux qui recherchent le vrai bonheur ne peuvent pas le trouver dans les possessions ou les gains matériels. La paix et le bonheur, réels et immuables, existent en nous-mêmes mais ils ne peuvent être réalisés que par la méditation et des investigations intellectuelles subtiles. » Son Éminence le 3ème Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoché

Le CENTRE RIGPE DORJE (Montréal), fondé en 1987, est le premier des Centres que Son Éminence le 3e Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoché, Lodro Chokyi Sengé (lignée des Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpochés) allait établir en Amérique du Nord, en Asie, en Europe et en Afrique. Sa vision était de créer un environnement pour l’étude et la pratique du bouddhisme tibétain, plus particulièrement de la tradition Karma Kagyu.

C’est en 1976, année où Son Éminence accompagna le 16e Karmapa, Rangjung Rigpé Dorjé, en visite à Montréal, que se forma son lien privilégié avec cette ville. Depuis ce temps, Son Éminence a touché les cœurs et les esprits de bien des pratiquants, débutants et plus expérimentés. Après le décès du 16e Karmapa en 1981, Son Éminence continua à venir à Montréal pour y offrir enseignements, initiations et bénédictions à un nombre croissant d’étudiants du Dharma.

Il établit aussi la Fondation Rigpe Dorje (Canada), élément d’un réseau d’organisations internationales répondant aux inégalités de développement en matière sociale, éducationnelle et médicale, chez les personnes de tout âge qui sont dans le besoin en Inde, au Népal et au Tibet. Dans l’ensemble du Canada, des sympathisants furent inspirés par la bienveillance de Son Éminence et par sa préoccupation profonde du bien-être des autres ; par leurs dons et leur parrainage, ils contribuent toujours à l’efficacité de ces services communautaires.

Salle001Le Centre Rigpe Dorje opère en tant qu’activité de la Fondation. À ses débuts, au milieu des années quatre-vingt, il s’agissait d’un petit groupe d’étude informel dirigé par Son Éminence. Avec le temps, ce groupe évolua et adopta un cadre plus officiel, ce qui permit à d’autres personnes de profiter de sa claire sagesse et de sa compréhension du Dharma.

Commencée au 19e siècle avec Jamgon Kongtrul Lodro Thayé, célèbre érudit, écrivain et maître bouddhiste tibétain, la lignée des Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpochés a contribué de manière importante au rayonnement des enseignements du Bouddha. Son Éminence le 3e Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoché, fondateur du Centre Rigpe Dorje, était un maître bouddhiste authentique par ses activités et sa conduite ; c’était aussi l’un des quatre fils du cœur du 16e Karmapa, Rangjung Rigpé Dorjé, chef suprême de l’école Karma Kagyu de bouddhisme tibétain.

Depuis des générations, il existe un lien karmique puissant entre les Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpochés et les Gyalwa Karmapas. Son Éminence voyait dans le 16e Karmapa la source de toutes les voies et de toutes les pratiques ; une telle dévotion illustre parfaitement la relation entre guru et disciple. Il est donc de bon augure que Son Éminence ait choisi pour le Centre et la Fondation le nom de son maître racine, Rigpé Dorjé.

Malgré le décès de Son Éminence en 1992, ses projets de nature spirituelle et humanitaire continuent d’évoluer. De plus, Son Éminence le 4e Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoché, Lodro Chokyi Nyima, encore bien jeune, manifeste déjà de merveilleuses qualités de sagesse éveillée et de compassion. Le lien puissant qui l’unit au 17e Karmapa, Ogyen Trinley Dorjé, ne cède en rien aux exemples de dévotion donnés par ses incarnations précédentes.

Le Centre Rigpe Dorje opère sous la direction de Son Éminence le 4e Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoché et de son Labrang (administration), au monastère de Pullahari, au Népal. Les activités hebdomadaires du Centre sont dirigées par les lamas en résidence, elles comprennent des enseignements, des instructions et des pratiques. Avec les professeurs invités, des séminaires et des retraites s’ajoutent au calendrier régulier.

Les activités du Centre se font en tibétain, en anglais et en français.