Karma Kagyu Lineage

 

refuge

The KARMA KAGYU LINEAGE of Tibetan Buddhism

THE KARMA KAGYU LINEAGE OF TIBETAN BUDDHISM traces its origins to Shakyamuni Buddha through Marpa the Great Translator, who three times traveled to India to bring back authentic Buddhist teachings to Tibet. His teacher, Naropa, received the lineage transmission from Tilopa and so on, back to the Buddha himself. Marpa’s most famous student was the greatest yogi in all of Tibet, the renowned Jetsun Milarepa, who passed the teachings on to Gampopa who in turn transmitted the teachings to the First Karmapa, Dusum Khyenpa. Since then, the Kagyu Lineage has been headed by a succession of reincarnations of the Gyalwa Karmapa. The line of the Karmapas is said to be self-announced, because each incarnation leaves a letter predicting his next rebirth. All great Kagyu teachers regard His Holiness Karmapa as the embodiment and source of all of the blessings of the lineage.

lotus

Karma Kagyu Lineage History

The lineage in Tibetan Buddhism is based on the unbroken transmission of the Buddha’s teachings from teacher to disciple. It is in this way that Dharma wisdom continues to be passed on from master to master. Beginning in the ninth century with the great Indian yogi Tilopa through to Naropa, Marpa, Milarepa and Gampopa and then in the twelfth century to the first incarnate Lama and Karmapa, Dusum Khyenpa, with the Lineage continuing with the current seventeenth Karmapa, Urgen Trinley Dorje as the main lineage holder.

The Karma Kagyu School of Tibetan Buddhism is known as the Oral Lineage because the treasury of the Buddha’s teachings has been passed down in this verbal continuum to the present day.


LineageTilopa

Tilopa

Tilopa was born into a Brahmin family of Eastern India in 988 CE. Renouncing his life of luxury as the ruler of a small Indian kingdom, he became a monk at the Tantric Temple of Somapuri in Bengal. He remained at the Temple for twelve years, later traveling throughout India meeting many teachers and receiving initiations into advanced practices. The Celestial Buddha Vajradhara became his Root Guru, bestowing direct Teachings and Transmissions. It was especially Mahamudra that was revealed to Tilopa in this way. Although Tilopa preferred to reside in remote and deserted areas, his reputation as a highly realized meditation master drew many outstanding students to study with him. Foremost among his disciples was Naropa.


LineageNaropa

Naropa

Born in 1016 CE into a royal family, it was at a young age that Naropa resisted his training as a Bengali prince and future king. Instead he chose to study the arts, sciences, grammar, rhetoric and logic with eminent teachers in Kashmir, showing remarkable scholarship. When he returned to Bengal and was forced by his family to marry a Brahmin girl, he eventually had his marriage dissolved in order to return to his studies, and to be ordained.

At age 28, he studied at India’s Nalanda University, which was well known for its great Buddhist philosophers. Naropa eventually became Abbott but a Dakini appearing to him led him to leave the University in search of Tilopa. After receiving transmissions and enduring twelve arduous tests by Tilopa he mastered the teachings and took on disciples of his own, the main one being Marpa.


LineageMarpa

Marpa

When Marpa was born in 1012 CE in Southern Tibet, his father prophesied his potential for great spiritual attainments if he chose the right path. In fact, he embraced Buddhism at an early age. Later, trading his worldly possessions for gold, he set out on a long and difficult journey to India in search of further teachings. In a vision Naropa had already seen the arrival in India of this Tibetan pilgrim and accepted him as a spiritual son. For sixteen years Marpa received teachings and transmissions from Naropa, as well as from other famous Indian masters. He returned to Tibet where he married Dagmema and they had two sons. He became renowned as a translator of Buddhist scriptures from Sanskrit into the vernacular Tibetan, and is therefore credited with establishing the Kagyu lineage in Tibet. In order to bring further teachings to his country, Marpa made further arduous expeditions to India, one when he was already quite old. Known as a strict, but generous, teacher, he had a group of devoted main students, including the notorious yogi and poet, Milarepa.


LineageMilarepa

Milarepa

Milarepa was born in Western Tibet, close to the Nepalese border in 1052 CE. His father died when he was very young and the family property was left in the care of greedy relatives who treated him and his mother very badly. Her bitterness against the family led her to encourage her son to become adept in the art of black magic and to avenge their mistreatment with great devastation to their village, causing many to die. Milarepa grew to regret his destructive actions, and sought to purify the bad karma he had accumulated in his youth. He studied with the Red Hat School before becoming a disciple of Marpa at the age of thirty-eight. On his return to India from Tibet Marpa had a vision of Milarepa coming to him.

The trials and tests faced by Milarepa before receiving the teachings from Marpa are well documented. He had to endure hard physical labour such as several frustrating attempts to construct a nine-story tower according to Marpa’s specifications. After having to tear down and construct the building over and over again, he eventually succeeded and finally Marpa gave Milarepa full transmission of all that he had learnt from Naropa and other Indian masters. Practicing these teachings for many years in high mountain caves, Milarepa attained enlightenment. He became renowned for imparting teachings through his mystic songs, many of which have survived to this day. Of his three main students, Gampopa became his lineage-holder.


LineageGompopa

Gampopa

The son of a doctor and a doctor himself, Gampopa was born in Eastern Tibet in 1079 CE. At the age of twenty two, he married and fathered a son and a daughter. Unfortunately, an epidemic in the region killed first his children and later his wife. Before dying, his wife requested that he devote his life to Buddhism. Gampopa complied with her wishes and at the age of twenty-six, he became a monk in the Kadampa tradition. After having studied under several masters and achieving a clear understanding of the teachings, he heard about Milarepa when he was thirty two and spontaneously felt great devotion for him. He realized that he was his true teacher and therefore set out in search of him. After many hardships, he was successful in his mission and as one of Milarepa’s students he received the complete Kagyu transmission.

Gampopa spent many years in retreat in Southeastern Tibet. It was there that he founded the Daglha Gampo Monastery where he attracted many disciples, four of whom eventually founded the four major Kagyu branches. One of them was Dusum Khyenpa who was to be the next Kagyu lineage holder and the first Karmapa.

Known for his clear and analytical writing, Gampopa produced profound work that is used as important texts to this day.


LineageKarmapa1

The 1st Karmapa, Dusum Khyenpa

Born in Eastern Tibet to a Yogi and Yogini in 1110 CE, Dusum Khyenpa was a gifted child. By the age of eleven, he had already perfected teachings and miraculous powers and continued to study profound aspects of Buddhism. He was fully ordained at twenty, and at thirty journeyed to meet his main Lama, Je Gampopa. While he was in a retreat under the guidance of his teacher, his capacity for meditation was recognized as supreme among hundreds of Gampopa’s disciples. After several years, he attained complete Enlightenment and was instructed by Gampopa to impart his realizations to others.

Lord Buddha had predicted that about sixteen hundred years after his own passing, there would be born a man of great spiritual attainment and infinite compassion to spread the Buddhist Dharma for many successive incarnations. He would be known as the Karmapa. Je Gampopa recognized that Dusum Khyenpa was the one foretold in the prophecy.

Dusum Khyenpa was the first to leave a prediction letter containing the details of his next incarnation, and declared that there would be many future Karmapas.


LineageKarmapa16

The 16th Gyalwa KarmapaRanjung Rigpe Dorje

Born in Tibet in 1924, Rangjung Rigpe Dorje is best known for having brought the Dharma out of Tibet and into the Western world. His Holiness was recognized as the Sixteenth Gyalwa Karmapa by the Eleventh Tai Situpa who fully ordained him in 1945. Not only was His Holiness given comprehensive Kagyu teachings and empowerments by Tai Situpa, he also received complete transmission of the Nyingma teachings of Terton Chojur Lingpa from master Urgyen Rinpoche. It was in 1959 during the Communist invasion into Tibet that His Holiness travelled to India with spiritual treasures and relics as well as tulkus, monks and lay people, settling in Rumtek, Sikkim, India. In 1974, His Holiness set out on the first of several world tours. In the tradition of the Karmapas, His Holiness performed miracles such as leaving his footprints in rocks and making rain during a drought while on a visit to the Hopi reservation in northeastern Arizona. After his death in 1981 in Zion, Illinois, north of Chicago, his body remained upright in meditation posture for three days, and doctors were amazed by the warmth over his heart. Later his heart fell from the blazing body during the cremation at Rumtek Monastery. Bones that remained after the cremation of Rangjung Rigpe Dorje formed Buddhas and relics.


LineageJamgon3

The 3rd Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche,

Lodro Chokyi Senge

The birth of His Eminence in 1954 in Central Tibet was foretold by his previous incarnation and the circumstances prophesied by His Holiness the 16th Gyalwa Karmapa, Ranjung Rigpe Dorje. His devotion to His Holiness was a perfect model of the Guru-Disciple relationship. Moreover, as a practitioner, master and human being, His Eminence was exemplary and a guide.

His Eminence created a number of Monasteries in India, Nepal and Tibet including his main Seat, Pullahari Monastery and Retreat Centre in Nepal.

Even though his life was short, his spiritual and humanitarian deeds were vast and many. Sensitive to the needs of others, particularly the plight of the destitute, he used his connections with others who shared similar ideals for humanity, and founded an international network of organizations to facilitate medical, social and educational assistance for the needy young and old in India, Nepal and Tibet.

His Eminence passed away in, 1992 leaving a legacy of spiritual and humanitarian activities that continue today.


karmapa

The 17th Gyalwa Karmapa, Ogyen Trinley Dorje

Ogyen Trinley Dorje is the spiritual leader of the Karma Kagyu lineage. Born in Eastern Tibet on June 26th, 1985, he was recognized at the age of seven through a prediction letter left by the Sixteenth Gyalwa Karmapa. His Holiness’ childhood was spent in the pastoral life of his nomadic family and included Buddhist training at the Karlek Monastery. In June 1992, His Holiness’ parents complied with his wishes to move their camp earlier than planned. This brought him to the location cited in the prediction letter and therefore where the search party arrived in their search for him. In fact, he told his parents that his monks were coming for him and packed his things. In 1992, he went to Tsurphu Monastery in Central Tibet, the main seat of the Karmapas. In that same month, His Holiness the Dalai Lama confirmed the recognition of the Karmapa stating that he had experienced “a kind of dream of the area where the present incarnation was born.”

Twenty thousand people from all over the world attended his Enthronement at Tsurphu Monastery in 1992. His Holiness then completed basic studies of Buddhist texts and became adept at Tibetan language and literature. His poetry was profound and lyrical even at a young age and continues to flourish today. His artistic abilities are also seen in his music, drawing, painting, and calligraphy.

His Holiness escape from Tibet in 1999 in order to receive teachings and transmissions from his teachers in India was widely covered in the international media. Granted refugee status by the Indian government, he took up temporary residence in Gyuto Monastery, not far from the Dalai Lama’s home in Dharamsala. Students from all over the world who visit him at Gyuto Monastery each year for teachings and transmissions are impressed and inspired by the manifestation of his wisdom and maturity. Thousands attend the annual Kagyu Monlam in Bodhgaya, presided by His Holiness since 2001. In 2008, His Holiness’ teaching tour in the USA overjoyed thousands who welcomed him on his brief, but powerful, first visit to the West.


JamgonKongtrul02

The 4th Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche,

Lodro Chokey Nyima

Born in 1995 in Central Tibet, His Eminence’s birth was prophesied by His Holiness the Gyalwa Karmapa Ogyen Trinley Dorje who also recognised him and confirmed the authenticity of his incarnation. Although he is still young, His Eminence has already assumed responsibilities of the activities of his predecessors. He spends time between Kagyu Tekchen Ling in India and Pullahari Monastery in Nepal, his monastic seats founded by the Third Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche. Training and receiving transmissions from the Lineage Masters are the priorities at this time, but His Eminence meets with many of his disciples who visit him from around the world inspiring them with his compassion and wisdom. Annually, he participates in the Kagyu Monlam at Bodhgaya, India led by His Holiness, and he leads the Kagyu Monlam in Kathmandu, Nepal.

The prophecy, the search, and the recognition of His Eminence are described in the book EMA HO! published by the Jamgon Kongtrul Labrang and available at Rigpe Dorje Centre. It can also be viewed on www.jamgonkongtrul.org.

For further information on the lineage, visit Karma Triyana Dharmachakra. All rights reserved.

Lignée Karma Kagyu

 

refuge

La Lignée Karma Kagyu du Bouddhisme tibétain

La lignée Karma Kagyu de bouddhisme tibétain tire ses origines du Bouddha Shakyamuni, en passant par Marpa le Grand Traducteur, qui fit trois fois le voyage en Inde pour en ramener des enseignements bouddhistes authentiques au Tibet. Son maître Naropa avait reçu de Tilopa la transmission de la lignée, et ainsi de suite, en remontant jusqu’au Bouddha lui-même. L’étudiant le plus connu de Marpa fut le plus grand yogi de tout le Tibet, le célèbre Jetsun Milarepa, qui donna les enseignements à Gampopa, lequel les transmit à son tour au premier Karmapa, Dusum Khyenpa. Depuis lors, la lignée Kagyu a été dirigée par une succession de réincarnations du Gyalwa Karmapa. On dit que la lignée des Karmapas se prédit elle-même, parce que chaque incarnation décrit les conditions de sa prochaine naissance dans une lettre, avant de mourir. Tous les grands maîtres Kagyus considèrent Sa Sainteté le Karmapa comme l’incarnation et la source de toutes les grâces de la lignée.

lotus

Histoire de la lignée Karma Kagyu

Une lignée, en bouddhisme tibétain, se fonde sur la transmission ininterrompue des enseignements du Bouddha, de maître à disciple. De cette façon, la sagesse du Dharma continue à se transmettre d’un maître au maître suivant. La lignée Karma Kagyu commence au 9e siècle avec le grand yogi indien Tilopa, puis viennent Naropa, Marpa, Milarepa et Gampopa avec, au 12e siècle, le premier lama réincarné et premier Karmapa, Dusum Khyenpa ; elle se continue jusqu’à maintenant avec, comme principal détenteur de la lignée, le 17e Karmapa, Ogyen Trinley Dorjé.

L’école Karma Kagyu de bouddhisme tibétain est connue sous le nom de Lignée orale, parce que le trésor des enseignements du Bouddha s’est transmis jusqu’à nos jours par ce continuum oral.


LineageTilopa

Tilopa

Tilopa naquit dans une famille de brahmanes de l’Inde orientale en 988 de notre ère. Souverain d’un petit royaume indien, il renonça à l’opulence de cette vie et devint moine au temple tantrique de Somapuri, au Bengale. Il y passa douze ans puis voyagea beaucoup en Inde, rencontrant plusieurs maîtres et recevant des initiations vers des pratiques avancées. Le bouddha céleste Vajradhara devint son guru racine et lui conféra directement transmissions et enseignements. Le Mahamudra, en particulier, fut révélé ainsi à Tilopa. Malgré sa préférence pour les régions éloignées et désertes comme lieux de résidence, la réputation de Tilopa en tant que maître hautement réalisé attira bien des étudiants remarquables qui voulaient étudier avec lui. Le plus éminent de ses disciples fut Naropa.


LineageNaropa

Naropa

Né en 1016 de notre ère dans une famille royale, Naropa était très jeune quand il opposa une résistance à sa formation de prince Bengali et de futur roi. Il choisit plutôt d’étudier au Cachemire avec des maîtres éminents, les arts, les sciences, la grammaire, la rhétorique et la logique, y faisant preuve d’une remarquable érudition. Quand il rentra au Bengale où sa famille le força à épouser une jeune Brahmane, il finit par faire dissoudre son mariage pour revenir à ses études, et recevoir l’ordination.

À 28 ans, il étudia à l’université indienne de Nalanda, renommée pour ses grands philosophes bouddhistes. Il en devint abbé au bout d’un certain temps, puis une dakini lui apparut et l’amena à quitter l’université pour partir à la recherche de Tilopa. Celui-ci lui donna des transmissions et lui fit subir douze épreuves ardues, au bout desquelles Naropa maîtrisa les enseignements ; il prit des disciples, dont le principal était Marpa.


LineageMarpa

Marpa

Lorsque Marpa naquit en 1012 de notre ère dans le sud du Tibet, son père prophétisa qu’il pourrait atteindre de grandes réalisations spirituelles s’il choisissait le bon chemin. De fait, il embrassa le bouddhisme à un très jeune âge. Plus tard, ayant échangé ses biens contre de l’or, il entreprit un voyage long et difficile vers l’Inde, à la recherche d’enseignements. Dans une vision, Naropa avait déjà vu l’arrivée en Inde de ce pèlerin tibétain, et l’avait accepté comme fils spirituel. Pendant seize ans, Marpa reçut des enseignements et des transmissions de Naropa, ainsi que d’autres maîtres indiens célèbres. Il rentra au Tibet où il épousa Dagmema, et ils eurent deux fils. Comme la traduction de textes bouddhistes, du sanskrit au tibétain populaire, avait fait sa renommée, on lui attribua l’établissement de la lignée Kagyu au Tibet. Afin de ramener de nouveaux enseignements dans son pays, Marpa fit d’autres expéditions pénibles en Inde, dont une alors qu’il était déjà assez âgé. Il avait la réputation d’être un maître strict mais généreux. Il avait autour de lui un groupe d’excellents étudiants, pleins de dévotion, dont le célèbre yogi et poète, Milarepa.


LineageMilarepa

Milarepa

Milarepa est né dans l’Ouest du Tibet, près de la frontière népalaise, en 1052 de notre ère. Il perdit son père à un très jeune âge, et les biens familiaux furent confiés à des parents cupides qui le traitèrent très mal, lui et sa mère. Celle-ci, pleine d’amertume envers la famille, poussa son fils à pratiquer la magie noire et à se venger des mauvais traitements subis en semant la dévastation dans leur village, causant la mort de plusieurs personnes. Plus tard, Milarepa en vint à regretter toute cette violence et chercha à purifier le mauvais karma ainsi accumulé dans sa jeunesse. Il reçut des enseignements de l’école des chapeaux rouges avant de devenir disciple de Marpa, à l’âge de trente-huit ans. Au cours d’un de ses voyages entre le Tibet et l’Inde, Marpa eut une vision où Milarepa venait à sa rencontre.

Avant que Marpa n’accepte de lui donner les enseignements, Milarepa dut se soumettre à des épreuves et à des tests dont bien des témoignages demeurent. Il a dû peiner au cours de travaux manuels pénibles comme la construction d’une tour de neuf étages qui, sous la direction de Marpa, exigea plusieurs tentatives frustrantes. Il lui fallait démolir l’édifice pour le reconstruire encore et encore ; il finit par réussir, et Marpa lui donna enfin la transmission intégrale de tout ce qu’il avait appris de Naropa et de ses autres maîtres indiens. Après avoir pratiqué ces enseignements pendant plusieurs années dans des grottes en haute montagne, Milarepa atteignit l’éveil. Il devint renommé pour communiquer les enseignements par des chants mystiques dont beaucoup nous sont parvenus. Parmi ses trois meilleurs étudiants, Gampopa devint le détenteur de sa lignée.


LineageGompopa

Gampopa

Fils de médecin et médecin lui-même, Gampopa naquit au Tibet oriental, en 1079 de notre ère. À vingt-deux ans, il se maria et devint père d’un fils et d’une fille. Malheureusement, ses enfants d’abord, puis sa femme, périrent, victimes d’une épidémie qui sévissait dans la région. Avant de mourir, sa femme lui demanda de consacrer sa vie au bouddhisme. Gampopa se conforma à ses désirs et à l’âge de vingt-six ans, devint moine selon la tradition Kadampa. Il étudia auprès de différents maîtres et parvint à une compréhension claire des enseignements ; puis, à l’âge de trente-deux ans, il entendit parler de Milarepa et ressentit spontanément une grande dévotion envers lui. Il se rendit compte qu’il s’agissait de son vrai maître, et se mit donc à sa recherche. Après beaucoup de difficultés, il réussit sa mission et en tant qu’étudiant de Milarepa, il reçut la transmission Kagyu complète.

Gampopa passa plusieurs années en retraite au sud-est du Tibet. C’est là qu’il fonda le monastère de Daglha Gampo, où il attira bien des disciples ; plus tard, quatre d’entre eux fondèrent les quatre branches Kagyus majeures. L’un d’eux était Dusum Khyenpa, qui devint le détenteur suivant de la lignée Kagyu et le premier Karmapa.

Connu pour ses écrits clairs et analytiques, Gampopa rédigea des œuvres très profondes, encore utilisées de nos jours comme textes majeurs.


LineageKarmapa1

Le premier Karmapa, Dusum Khyenpa

Né au Tibet oriental en 1110 de notre ère, fils d’un yogi et d’une yogini, Dusum Khyenpa était un enfant doué. À onze ans, il comprenait déjà les enseignements à la perfection, faisait montre de pouvoirs miraculeux et approfondissait encore son étude du bouddhisme. Il reçut l’ordination complète à vingt ans ; à trente ans, il voyagea pour aller rencontrer son lama principal, Jé Gampopa. Au cours d’une retraite dirigée par son maître, ses capacités pour la méditation furent reconnues comme de loin supérieures à celles de centaines de disciples de Gampopa. Après plusieurs années, il atteignit l’éveil complet et Gampopa lui demanda de transmettre ses réalisations aux autres.

Le seigneur Bouddha avait prédit que, environ mille six cents ans après son décès, naîtrait un homme d’une grande maturité spirituelle et d’une compassion infinie, qui propagerait le dharma bouddhiste au cours de plusieurs incarnations successives. On le connaîtrait sous le nom de Karmapa. Jé Gampopa reconnut en Dusum Khyenpa celui qu’annonçait la prophétie.

Dusum Khyenpa fut le premier à laisser une lettre prédisant les circonstances de son incarnation suivante, et il déclara qu’il y aurait plusieurs Karmapas dans l’avenir.


LineageKarmapa16

Le 16e Karmapa, Rangjung Rigpé Dorjé

Né au Tibet en 1924, Rangjung Rigpé Dorjé est surtout connu pour avoir fait passer à l’Occident le dharma du Tibet. C’est le 11e Tai Situpa qui reconnut Sa Sainteté comme étant le 16e Gyalwa Karmapa et qui lui conféra l’ordination en 1945. Il reçut de Tai Situpa, non seulement tous les enseignements et initiations de la lignée Kagyu, mais aussi, du maître Urgyen Rinpoché, la transmission complète des enseignements Nyingma du tertön Chojur Lingpa. En 1959, pendant l’invasion communiste du Tibet, Sa Sainteté se rendit en Inde avec des trésors spirituels et des reliques ; il était accompagné de tulkus, de moines et de laïcs ; il s’installa à Rumtek, au Sikkim (Inde). En 1974, Sa Sainteté entreprit la première de ses nombreuses tournées autour du monde. Suivant la tradition des Karmapas, Sa Sainteté fit des miracles ; par exemple, il laissa l’empreinte de ses pieds sur des rochers, et fit tomber de la pluie alors qu’il visitait une réserve hopi du nord-est de l’Arizona où sévissait une sécheresse. Après son décès en 1981 à Zion, en Illinois, au nord de Chicago, son corps resta assis en posture de méditation pendant trois jours, tandis que les médecins notaient avec étonnement que la région de son cœur demeurait chaude. Plus tard, lors de sa crémation au monastère de Rumtek, son cœur tomba de son corps enflammé. Les os demeurant après la crémation de Rangjung Rigpé Dorjé prirent la forme de bouddhas et de reliques.


LineageJamgon3

Le 3e Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoché,

Lodro Chokyi Sengé

La naissance de Son Éminence en 1954 au Tibet central fut prédite par son incarnation précédente, et les circonstances en furent prophétisées par Sa Sainteté le 16e Gyalwa Karmapa, Rangjung Rigpé Dorjé. Sa dévotion à Sa Sainteté fut un parfait modèle de relation entre guru et disciple. De plus, en tant que pratiquant, maître et être humain, Son Éminence était un être exemplaire et un véritable guide.

Son Éminence fonda plusieurs monastères en Inde, au Népal et au Tibet, parmi lesquels son siège principal, le monastère et centre de retraite de Pullahari, au Népal.

Malgré la brièveté de sa vie, ses accomplissements sur les plans spirituel et humanitaire furent vastes et nombreux. Sensible aux besoins des autres et en particulier au triste sort des défavorisés, il mit à profit ses relations avec des gens qui partageaient ses idéaux humanitaires pour fonder un réseau international d’organismes. Leur objectif, en Inde, au Népal et au Tibet, est de faciliter l’assistance sociale, l’éducation et les soins médicaux chez les personnes sans ressources, jeunes et âgées.

Son Éminence décéda en 1992, laissant un héritage d’activités spirituelles et humanitaires qui se perpétue jusqu’à nos jours.


karmapaLe 17e Gyalwa Karmapa,

 

Orgyen Trinley Dorjé

Ogyen Trinley Dorjé est le chef spirituel de la lignée Karma Kagyu. Né au Tibet oriental le 26 juin 1985, il fut reconnu à l’âge de sept ans grâce à une lettre de prédiction laissée par le 16e Gyalwa Karmapa. Né dans une famille de nomades, Sa Sainteté partagea son enfance entre cet environnement pastoral et le monastère de Karlek où il reçut une formation bouddhiste. En juin 1992, sur sa demande, ses parents acceptèrent de lever le campement familial avant la date prévue. Cela lui permit d’être présent au moment où l’expédition lancée à sa recherche arrivait à l’endroit mentionné dans la lettre de prédiction. De fait, il déclara à ses parents que ses moines venaient le chercher, et il fit ses bagages. En juin 1992, il se rendit au monastère de Tsurphu, siège principal des Karmapas, au Tibet central. Le même mois, Sa Sainteté le Dalaï-lama confirma qu’il reconnaissait le Karmapa, disant avoir vu « en une sorte de rêve, les lieux de naissance de l’incarnation actuelle ».

Vingt mille personnes, venues du monde entier, assistèrent à son intronisation au monastère de Tsurphu, en 1992. Sa Sainteté compléta ensuite ses études de base des textes bouddhistes et devint expert en langue et littérature tibétaines. Sa poésie, déjà profonde et lyrique quand il était tout jeune, continue à s’épanouir aujourd’hui. Ses talents artistiques se manifestent aussi dans les domaines de la musique, du dessin, de la peinture et de la calligraphie.

Sa Sainteté s’enfuit du Tibet en 1999, afin de recevoir les transmissions et les enseignements de ses maîtres, qui étaient en Inde ; l’événement fut largement couvert par les médias internationaux. Le gouvernement indien lui octroya le statut de réfugié, et il établit sa résidence temporaire au monastère de Gyuto, non loin de Dharamsala où habite le Dalaï-lama. Les étudiants qui lui rendent visite chaque année au monastère de Gyuto pour recevoir enseignements et transmissions, et qui viennent du monde entier, sont impressionnés et inspirés par la sagesse et la maturité dont il fait preuve. Chaque année, à Bodhgaya, des milliers de personnes participent au Kagyu Monlam présidé par Sa Sainteté depuis 2001. Aux États-Unis en 2008, des milliers de personnes ont eu la joie, pour la première fois en Occident, de souhaiter la bienvenue à Sa Sainteté, au cours d’une tournée d’enseignements brève, mais magistrale.


JamgonKongtrul02

Le 4e Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoché,

Lodro Chokey Nyima

Son Éminence est né en 1995 au Tibet central ; sa naissance fut prophétisée par Sa Sainteté le Gyalwa Karmapa Ogyen Trinley Dorjé, qui l’a aussi reconnu et confirmé l’authenticité de son incarnation. Malgré son jeune âge, Son Éminence assume déjà des responsabilités reliées aux projets de ses prédécesseurs. Il partage son temps entre ses sièges monastiques, fondés par le 3e Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoché : Kagyu Tekchen Ling en Inde et le monastère de Pullahari au Népal. Recevoir une formation et les transmissions des maîtres de la lignée viennent en priorité en ce moment, ce qui n’empêche pas Son Éminence de rencontrer de nombreux disciples venus du monde entier et de les inspirer par sa compassion et sa sagesse. Chaque année, il participe au Kagyu Monlam dirigé par Sa Sainteté à Bodhgaya, en Inde, et il dirige le Kagyu Monlam de Kathmandu, au Népal.

La prophétie concernant Son Éminence, sa recherche et sa reconnaissance sont narrées dans le livre EMA HO! publié par le Labrang de Jamgon Kongtrul et disponible au Centre Rigpe Dorje. On peut aussi le voir sur le site www.jamgonkongtrul.or

Pour plus d’informations sur la lignée (en anglais), veuillez visiter Karma Triyana Dharmachakra. Tous droits réservés.